Steven Jay Thor Lifetime Achievement Award

Comments Off on Steven Jay Thor Lifetime Achievement Award

Steven Jay Thor, a retired teacher who advised publications for 37 years in Broward County, Florida, was one of 10 educators to be named winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award on Monday, August 24, 2015 by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

During his career, Thor taught broadcast, newspaper, yearbook and film. From 2000-2012, he was the department head of the communications magnet at Deerfield Beach High School in Deerfield Beach, Florida.

According to the profile released by JEA, Thor was dedicated to helping journalism programs thrive in inner-city schools throughout his career. He created and directed District 7 to be part of the Florida Scholastic Press Association.

Walsworth Yearbooks sales representative Veronika Levine nominated Thor for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Other Lifetime Achievement winners named today included:

  • Deb Buttleman Malcolm, MJE, Davenport Central High School, Iowa (retired)
  • Linda P. Evanchyk, MJE, Choctawhatchee High School, Fort Walton Beach, Florida
  • Ann Healey, Castle View High School, Highlands Ranch, Colorado (retired)
  • Barbara Hines, Silver Spring, Maryland
  • Gary Lindsay, MJE, John F. Kennedy High School, Cedar Rapids, Iowa (retired)
  • Mike Riley, CJE, Cody High School, Cody, Wyoming
  • Sandra Strall, Carlson High School, Gibraltar, Michigan (retired)
  • Steven Unruhe, Riverside High School, Durham, North Carolina (retired)
  • Thomas E. Winski, MJE, Winchester High School, Winchester, Illinois (retired)

The Lifetime Achievement winners will be invited to attend the awards ceremony that will take place on Nov. 14 at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Orlando, Florida.

From the Deerfield Beach High School family to Steven Jay Thor we say congratulations for this amazing achievement! We are proud to have you as part of the Buck’s Family!